A Top 5 Quick Bread – Super Moist Pina Colada Zucchini Bread

I love making quick breads. The only thing I don’t like about them is that there are so many I want to make that there aren’t enough days in the year to try them all, let alone all the other recipes I want to try for cookies, cakes, desserts, and candy. I do my best to switch off between the types of baked goods I make. One week I’ll make cookies, then when they are gone I’ll make a quick bread. When that’s gone I’ll make a new cake. Then another type of dessert. On and on it goes, where it stops, nobody knows.

Another dilemma I have is when I find a recipe that is really, really good, I can’t wait to make it again which means I can’t move on to a new one. Am I ever satisfied? Well, no. I want to be able to bake something new and eat something old at the same time. Trouble is, if I did that, I’d be 50 or more pounds overweight. So the struggle continues.

This recipe for Pina Colada Zucchini Bread is unbelievable. It is so moist and sweet that one slice will not satisfy you no matter how full you might be. For the family and myself to go through an entire loaf of this bread for breakfast is not unheard of. In fact, it took until the third time I made this recipe, in the matter of a month, until I finally had a bread I could freeze before someone cut into it.

Super Moist Pina Colada Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

  • 4 Cups Flour
  • 3 Cups Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 ½ tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 4 Large Eggs
  • 1 ½ Cups Peanut Oil
  • 1 tsp. each coconut, rum and vanilla extracts
  • 3 Cups Shredded Zucchini
  • 1 Cup Canned Crushed Pineapple, drained

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350º. Grease 3 – 8×4 inch loaf pans and line bottoms with parchment paper. Spray paper lightly with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
  3. In separate bowl whisk eggs, oil and extracts. Stir in zucchini and pineapple.
  4. Stir liquid ingredients into dry, just until moistened.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  6. Bake 45-55 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Cool in pan 5 – 10 minutes before removing to wire rack. Slowly remove parchment paper from bottom of bread.

Cooking Note

The reason I line the bottom of the loaf pan with parchment paper is it helps the bread to cook evenly and stops it from browning too quickly.

These breads freeze nicely. Once cool, wrap in freezer plastic wrap, place in freeze bag, and seal in vacuum bag for ultimate freshness. If you don’t have a FoodSaver, wrap tightly in plastic freezer wrap, wrap in foil, and place in ZipLock freezer bag, squeezing out as much air as possible.

If I had to choose just five quick breads to make the rest of my life, this one would definitely be one of them, they don’t get much better than this — and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a comment