Christmas Cookie Mixes In Jars

I love the convenience of making cookie mixes and storing them in jars for quick baking projects, especially during the holidays. Confession time…these two mixes were not just sitting on the shelf waiting to be made. Nope, I decided rather than make a mix that I already had on hand, I wanted to experiment a bit.

DSCF2605

I have made the traditional peanut butter blossom cookies yearly for probably the past 20 years, but have never had a mix in a jar on the pantry shelf. When I looked at my recipe, turns out it would fit perfectly in a jar, including the Hershey kisses. So, when Grace begged me to make a batch of these tonight, I decided it was the perfect time to stock the pantry at the same time.

Peanut Butter Blossom Cookie Mix-In-Jar

DSCF2603

1/2 Cup White Sugar

1 1/2 Cups Flour

3/4 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Baking Powder

1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

36 Hershey’s Kisses

Layer above in quart size wide mouth mason jar, packing down after baking powder and again after brown sugar. Top with Hershey kisses, seal, and attach the following tag:

To make cookies, heat oven to 350. Remove Hershey Kisses from jar and set aside. Empty contents of jar into large bowl. Add 1 egg, 1/2 cup softened butter, and 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter. Mix until well combined. Shape dough into 1-inch balls; roll in additional sugar and place on ungreased cookie sheet 2 inches apart. Bake 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven and immediately press 1 Hershey Kiss in center of each cookie. 

I didn’t put Kisses in all of my cookies. Some of them I criss-crossed with a fork prior to baking.

Once these cookies were done, I had to try something new. Although the Hershey Kisses might satisfy some people’s chocolate cravings, today was another one of those days that called for some serious chocolate. Tweaking a recipe I found online for chocolate oatmeal cookies, I came up with this very chocolatey, richly decadent cookie.

Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie Mix

DSCF2602

1 1/2 Cups Quick Cooking Oats

1/3 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa

1 Heaping Tbsp. Espresso Powder

1 Cup Dark Chocolate Semi Sweet Candy-Coated Baking Bits

1 Cup Sugar

3/4 Cup Flour

1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

1/4 tsp. Salt

Layer above in quart size wide mouth mason jar, packing down after oats, again after the espresso powder, and finally after the flour. Seal and attach the following tag:

To make cookies, heat oven to 350. Empty contents of jar into large bowl. Add 1 egg, 1/2 cup softened butter, 2 tablespoons milk, and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Mix until well combined. Spoon dough by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet 2 inches apart. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes.

Hubby ate 6 of the peanut butter blossoms when they came out of the oven, but I had to stop him at 8 with these chocolatey delights. I’d have to say they’re a keeper!

Two cookies, one old and one new, both now mixes-in-jars on the pantry shelf, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

 

One thought on “Christmas Cookie Mixes In Jars

Leave a Reply

