The Best Buttermilk Substitute EVER!

Recently while making dinner, I discovered I didn’t have any buttermilk. This happens all the time. If I do remember to buy buttermilk, more often than not I end up throwing more than half of it out because I forget I have it or don’t plan meals around this particular ingredient.

I have made my own buttermilk by adding vinegar or lemon juice to milk and allowing it to sit for a short period of time, but when I’ve used it in recipes where the buttermilk flavor is noticeable, it doesn’t hold up. I’ve also made my own buttermilk by adding 1/3 cup store-bought buttermilk to 1 cup regular milk and allowing it to sit on the counter for 12-24 hours. This is cheaper than store-bought buttermilk, but again, I have to remember to first buy some buttermilk, use it, and do this at least 12-24 hours before I need it. Yeah, like that’s going to happen.

So as I sat pondering how I was going to make buttermilk ranch salad dressing for our salad, without any buttermilk, I remembered that a long time ago, and we are talking at least two years here, I had bought a container of Cultured Buttermilk Blend for cooking and baking. I ran down to the pantry, and low and behold there it was right on the shelf, unopened, still not past the expiration date, just screaming for me to use it. The Cultured Buttermilk Blend is a powder that when mixed with water gives you real buttermilk. How cool is that?

With this powder, you can make as little or as much as you need, and not have to worry about any leftovers. This is perfect for me, especially since I don’t use buttermilk everyday and more often than not it ends up spoiling when I buy it and I waste a lot of money. This product gives me the flexibility to make only what I need and – drum roll please – it’s far cheaper than store-bought buttermilk! Yep, the little container cost around $4.50 and makes 3.75 quarts – that’s 15 cups! It doesn’t get much cheaper than that.

Of course, the true test to the worth of this product is how it tastes. Well, I’m not a ranch eater myself, but Hubby and Grace are. I didn’t tell them what I used to make the dressing and without any prodding from me, they both offered me compliments on how good the dressing was when I served it. I was elated, but chose to keep my little ace in the hole a secret. A girl can’t give all her secrets away. I’ll wait until Grace is on her own and is in need of some motherly advice – gotta keep her coming back for more.

I haven’t tried this in too many recipes yet, but I have made buttermilk pancakes with it and used it in scones and both turned out excellent. The possibilities are endless and for this I am – Simply Grateful.

One thought on “The Best Buttermilk Substitute EVER!

Leave a Reply

