A New Spin on Beef Stroganoff Using Shaved Beef

Keeping on track with uses for the “melt-in-your-mouth” shaved beef I’ve been slicing with my meat slicer, rather than come up with “NEW” recipes, I decided to first try revamping some of my old ones.

In the past when I made beef stroganoff I’d use round steak. I would slice it as thin as I possibly could, which is never going to be as thin as the meat slicer can do it (paper-thin) Then I’d either use a marinade/tenderizer solution, pound it into submission, or more often than not do nothing and just suffer through the results. I’d fry it, make the sauce and add the meat back in. It was tasty, but still, somewhat tough. Hubby would often tease me by asking one of two questions:

  1. What form of animal is this? (then without waiting for a reply) Mule? or
  2. Did this meat die on its own?

Gotta love his sense of humor – NOT!

Anyway, using the shaved beef in the stroganoff made all the difference in the world, it just fell apart and dare I say it – melted in our mouths.

Now, along with the Ultimate Philly Steak & Cheese Hoagies I think this is going to be one of our new go-to favorites. I posted my “from scratch” recipe for Beef Stroganoff some years ago on Simply Grateful Housewife, but when I’m pressed for time, this quick and easy method gets the job done.

A quick and easy meal, made even more so by the prepackaged shaved beef from my freezer, and for this I am – Simply Grateful.

Quick & Easy Beef Stroganoff

  • Servings: Serves 4 -8 people
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 Pounds Saved Round Steak or Roast
  • 3/4 Large Sweet Onion, Minced
  • 2-3 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 2 Cans Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 1 Can of Milk
  • 1 Tbsp. Paprika
  • Kitchen Bouquet (optional)
  • 16 oz. Egg Noodles

Directions

  1. Add two to three tablespoons olive or peanut oil to a large fry pan.
  2. Fry 1 to 2 pounds of shaved beef quickly over a medium-high heat.
  3. Bring large pot of water to boil for noodles.
  4. While meat cooks, combine cream of mushroom soup,  milk,  paprika, and 1 tsp. salt.
  5. When meat is no longer pink, pour soup mixture over meat and stir to combine.
  6. Add egg noodles to boiling water. Stir.
  7. Bring meat and sauce to boil.
  8. At this point I typically add a tablespoon of Kitchen Bouquet to the sauce. Hubby is very particular about the color of his food. I know this might sound strange, but he doesn’t like eating something with a gravy that isn’t brown. Whenever I’ve served him anything other than a brown sauce, he is sure to tell me, “What an ugly color.” Just one of his little idiosyncrasies. I add the Kitchen Bouquet just for his benefit, although it does add just a hint more flavor to the sauce as well. Stir to combine.
  9. When the noodles are cooked and drained, add one cup sour cream to sauce, stir to incorporate and serve immediately.

Cooking Note

To make this have a more “from scratch” taste, you can add 8 ounces fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce while the noodles are cooking. Cover the pan so the mushrooms release their juices and cook for about 5-6 minutes. Then continue as directed above.

This could also be served with mashed potatoes.

If you like a lot of gravy, you can add another can of soup and half a can of milk.

Recipe by: Tilly Frueh, Simply Grateful Cooking at https://simplygratefulcooking.wordpress.com/ – 2017

2 thoughts on “A New Spin on Beef Stroganoff Using Shaved Beef

Leave a Reply

