Overnight Refrigerator Oatmeal

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day — or so it’s been said. In all honesty, I’m not sure that I agree. I do think how you begin your day of eating has a direct effect on the choices you make throughout the day however. I know that if I start my day off eating something sweet, I tend to continue snacking and cheating all day long with sweet treats. There is definitely a place for sweetness in every day, but to start my day off with something super sweet and no substance, leads to more unfulfilling meals.

Oatmeal is one choice for breakfast that is usually very filling and can hold me over until lunch. Unfortunately it can get pretty boring. So, when I saw a post from a friend on Facebook some years back for an overnight refrigerator oatmeal using yogurt and milk, I was intrigued. As with most recipes I print off from the internet, this recipe got put in a stack of “must try” recipes and stayed there until a few weeks ago. Finally, when Grace was complaining about not having enough time in the morning to make a healthy breakfast before leaving for college, I remembered this recipe and whipped up a batch of them.

Overnight Refrigerator Oatmeal

DSCF3342

  • 1/4 Cup Uncooked Old Fashioned Rolled Oats
  • 1/3 Cup Milk
  • 1/4 Cup Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp. Chia Seeds
  • Flavoring of your choice

In a half pint canning jar place rolled oats.

DSCF3344

Top oats with milk, yogurt, and chia seeds.

Place lid on jar and shake until well combined.

Remove lid and add flavoring. I used blueberry pie filling (2 Tbsp.), sweet cherry jam (1 Tbsp), and pineapple jam (2 Tbsp) in three of the jars and then added fresh fruit along with 1 tsp. honey in the last. Return lid to jar and shake.

DSCF3349

Place in the refrigerator overnight.

The jars turned out great. The oatmeal was not soggy by any meals, a bit chewy actually, which was a good texture and it was thick and creamy. I do have to say that the pie filling was probably the least favorite, but still good. Depending on how sweet you like your oatmeal, more sweetener or jam might be called for. We don’t like ours very sweet, so the amounts we used worked out perfectly.

When I made these, I used raw milk and homemade yogurt (you can find my recipe for this at Simply Grateful Housewife https://simplygratefulhousewife.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/nothing-beats-homemade-greek-yogurt/ ). The four that I made were gone in two days between Grace and myself and more were made for the next few days.

This is a great way to have breakfast on the go and you won’t have to worry about leaving yourself extra time in the morning to make breakfast — and for this I am, Simply Grateful.

Overnight Refrigerator Oatmeal

  • Servings: 1 half pint jar per recipe
  • Print

DSCF3349

 

Ingredients

  • 1/4 Cup Uncooked Old Fashioned Rolled Oats
  • 1/3 Cup Milk
  • 1/4 Cup Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp. Chia Seeds
  • Flavoring of your choice

Directions

  1. In a half pint canning jar place rolled oats.
  2. Top oats with milk, yogurt, and chia seeds.
  3. Place lid on jar and shake until well combined.
  4. Remove lid and add flavoring. I used blueberry pie filling (2 Tbsp.), sweet cherry jam (1 Tbsp), and pineapple jam (2 Tbsp) in three of the jars and then added fresh fruit along with 1 tsp. honey in the last. Return lid to jar and shake.
  5. Place in the refrigerator overnight.

Leave a Reply

